Subject: Re: Comparing Indian states in multi-year NFHS Posted by fred.arnold@icf.com on Mon, 30 Jan 2023 22:39:31 GMT View Forum Message <> Reply to Message

You should use the national level weights when comparing states. On 31 October 2019, the state of Jammu & Kashmir was reconstituted as two union territories, one of which was called Jammu and Kashmir, and the other of which was called Ladakh. For that reason, I would not recommend combining Ladakh and J & K in NFHS-5 to make comparisons with the earlier surveys. Telangana was made a separate state (carved out of Andhra Pradesh on 2 January 2014, one year before the start of the NFHS-4 fieldwork). Therefore, the state of Andhra Pradesh can be compared between NFHS-4 and NFHS-5, but neither NFHS-4 nor NFHS-5 can be compared with NFHS-3 for Andhra Pradesh. Telangana can be compared between NFHS-4 and NFHS-5, but it was not a state in NFHS-3. Chandigarh was a union territory in all three of the most recent NFHS surveys. It has never been a state. Chandigarh has an unusual relationship with Punjab and Haryana. Chandigarh is the capital of both Punjab and Haryana, but it is not part of either of those states. Jharkhand was separated from the state of Bihar and made a separate state on 15 November 2000, even before NFHS-3. Therefore, Jharkhand can be compared across all three surveys, and Bihar can be compared across all three surveys. Similarly, Chhattisgarh was separated from the state of Madhya Pradesh on 1 November 2000, which was before NFHS-3. Therefore, both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh can be compared across all three surveys. The union territories of Puducherry, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and Lakshadweep can be compared across all three surveys if you want to include them in your analysis. Although the name Pondicherry was changed to Puducherry in 2006, that union territory covered the same areas at the time of all three of the most recent NFHS surveys. The union territories of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu were merged into a single union territory (Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu) on 26 January 2020. The combined union territory was included in the NFHS-5 national report, but the separate union territories were shown in the NFHS-4 national report. The two separate territories in NFHS-4 should not be compared with the combined union territory in NFHS-5.