Subject: Re: Province identification

Posted by Janet-DHS on Fri, 13 May 2022 16:26:07 GMT

View Forum Message <> Reply to Message

Following is a response from the DHS survey manager, Senior Technical Specialist, Anju Pradhan:

Nepal was administratively divided into provinces in September 2015. The earlier NDHS surveys did not have provincial level information. Further, Nepal used to have 75 districts but there are now 77 districts with two districts (Rukum and Nawalparasi) split into two.

During the provincial demarcation these two districts (Rukum and Nawalparasi) got spread in two provinces as these districts were split. As all the selected clusters for Rukum in the 2016 NDHS fell in Province No. 6, there are no discrepancies.

For Nawalparasi district, the 2016 NDHS clusters were divided between Province 4 and Province 5, with 6 clusters in Province 4 and 4 clusters in Province 5. The ID codes for the 6 clusters in Province 4 are 194, 195, 196, 221, 222, 223. The ID codes for the 4 clusters in Province 5 are 226, 227, 256, 257.

You also asked "Also, if I could get how the district codes are given would be useful." Can you please clarify that question? Are you asking about the variable name or the labels?

## File Attachments

1) image001 (1).png, downloaded 602 times